Character Performer Auditions; Part 1

Happy Friday!

It has not been my life-long dream to be a Disney Princess (although I spent a good part of my childhood convinced I was a certain little mermaid).  However,  I did wake up one morning and decide that I wanted to be a Disney Face Character.

So, after some researching and lots of blog reading/vlog watching, I attended a Character Performer Audition for the Disney College Program.

During each DCP recruiting season, Disney holds auditions across the country looking for character performers for the Disney College Program.  I think this is super awesome because I live in Michigan which is not so close to Orlando, where most of the Disney Auditions are held.  These auditions also serve as General Recruiting auditions.

At these auditions Disney Entertainment is looking for Face Characters, Fur Characters, and Parade Movers. You don’t choose what character you want to audition for, if Disney likes you (which I hope they do!) they cast you for whatever role they best see fit.

The Audition Schedule and more information can be found here:

http://disneyauditions.com/audition-calendar/

And here:

https://disneyprogramsblog.com (Disney will post articles about upcoming auditions for DCP)

During my phone interview I expressed interest in auditioning to be a character performer, but you can also just show up- no pre-registration or anything like that is required, nor do you have to be accepted to the DCP to attend. However, if you have been NLIC’d for the DCP, then you are not able to audition for the Disney College Program. But, could could still audition for General Recruiting(:


What to Bring:

  • If you have a resume and headshot, you are welcome to bring one, but it is not required.  I did not bring one.
  • Water! You will be dancing. In a small studio. With a lot of people. It will get hot. You will sweat. A lot. You will get thirsty.
  • Snacks! I brought an apple with me to eat. You will have some down time during the audition and you might get hungry or need some nutrients.
  • Appropriate footwear.  I wore tennis shoes and then changed into jazz shoes once I got there. Some other girls wore tennis shoes or just socks.
  • A hair tie. Ladies, like I said, it gets hot and its nice to be able to get your hair off of your neck.
  • Lip balm. I brought some to put on every now and then, just as a little confidence booster.
  • Your biggest smile and positive attitude. You’re auditioning for Disney!! Get excited(:

I put my shoes, water bottle, snacks, etc. in a small little backpack.  The studio that my audition was at had cubbies that we could store our things in.

What to wear:

On the audition website, Disney suggests wearing “comfortable clothing that allows a free range of movement. It is not not recommended to wear a dress, skirt, or tight jeans.”

I wore a simple, blue-colored, v-neck t-shirt with a sports bra and cropped yoga pants.  Most of the girls had on something very similar to this, the more advanced dancers wore leotards, and the guys had on sweatpants and a t-shirt.  I have always heard to not dress like a certain character or wear any Disney merchandise. However, there was a girl who dressed like Minnie, a girl who was wearing a Donald crew neck, and a girl who did her hair and makeup just like Elsa, and all three of them made it to the end of the audition, so take this advice with a grain of salt.

As for hair and makeup, I suggest keeping it simple. I wore tinted moisturizer, loose powder, mascara, and just some lip balm. If you wear too much makeup, it is harder for Disney to see your natural face. For example, you could do your makeup just like Cinderella, but if Cinderella does not need anymore friends at the time of your audition, it may be hard for the casting director to see you as someone else.  Also, I curled my hair just to give me a confidence boost, but Disney won’t care what your hair looks like.  If you make it past the first cut, you will get your picture taken- just a heads up.


The Audition Itself 

The audition I attended started at 11:30, check in was from 10:00-11:30, and on the audition website it said to not arrive any earlier than 10:00.  Naturally, I was anxious about being late or getting lost, so I gave myself plenty of time to find the studio.  It was about 9:40 when I pulled into the parking lot. I found a parking spot, sang some Disney songs, gave myself a pep-talk, and prayed.  There were a lot of others waiting in their cars looking around as well.  I went in a little after 10:00.  I got in line and started talking to people. Everyone there was seriously so nice, happy, and friendly.  I was worried that some of the girls would be “catty”, but they weren’t, so it was really fun to talk to everyone!

Also, the casting director and choreographer are very encouraging and make the audition a lot of fun! I thought I was going to be so much more nervous than I was, they really helped put me at ease and just enjoy the experience of auditioning for Disney.

The casting director will have you type your name, e-mail address, and whether you are auditing for the DCP or General Recruiting.  You will also receive a number; I was #9.  I’m not sure exactly how many people where at the audition, but they largest number I saw anyone wearing was 125.  It was mostly girls, I believe there were only 3 or 4 guys total.  All of them made it through to the second round as well.      

Once you check in, you will wait in a room for everyone else to check in. This is where you get to talk to everyone and make friends.  I’m usually an awkward person, but talking with a bunch of different people actually boosted my confidence! Plus, one of the girls who I was talking to had done the DCP before and was friends with Tinkerbell on her program, so she gave me a lot of useful information about the DCP as well as answering a few of my questions.  Also, if you need to stretch, this will be the only opportunity you have to before the audition starts.

Breath. Relax. You got this.    

After everyone was checked in, we got split up into two groups. The first half of the people where in the first group and the second half of the people were in the second group (crazy how that works).  From here, the choreographer taught us a simple parade dance.  If I remember correctly, it was just two eight count moves.  If you can’t dance, like me, don’t worry, it is not difficult. It’s a lot of marching and hand motions.  There was also a jazz square and a ball change.  The dance was to a remix of It’s a Small World.  The choreographer goes over this a few times.  When he starts teaching the dance, try to get up in the front.  If you can’t, don’t worry, he moved the people from the back to the front so everyone had a chance to see. Then, you line up in groups of 4 based on your number, so I was in the third group.  You will be lined up in the back of the room with the casting director standing at the front of the room and you will perform the sequence three times while moving forward.  The most important thing is to smile and to make all of your motions big.  If you feel silly, you’re doing it right.  Also, make eye contact with the casting director and smile big at them! It does not have to be perfect. I messed up the dance a couple of times, but I kept a big smile on my face.  I was so scared that since I messed up this was going to be the end of the audition for me.  Once everyone has their moment to shine, they will move you into another room.

And. You. Wait.

After some time, the casting director will come in and read off numbers. If your number gets called, you get to stay, if not, then this audition is over for you.  Remember, Disney is always looking for something different, and just because you might not have gotten it this time doesn’t mean that you never will. Keep auditioning. Keep dreaming. And, I believe that God answers us in one of three ways: 1)Yes, 2) Not yet, or 3) I have something better planned. So if you don’t get casted now, you still have a chance, or something even better could come along.  Don’t give up hope. (:     

“Number Nine”

I was so excited!! I made it to the next round of the audition. Disney saw something in me!!

It is also sad, because not everyone can make through to the end, and although you have only been with these people for a couple hours, it’s like you form this Disney-Lover’s bond with them because you all have the same dream, and it’s sad to see some of them go.


I will publish a Part 2 to this post soon, since I think it has been long enough and I don’t want to bore anyone..but if you have made it this far thanks for reading and keep an eye out for my next post!

If I can answer any of your questions, I am more than happy to(:

Keep doing your thing,

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Character Performer Auditions; Part 1

  1. This seems like something that I may want to do one day (if only for the experience), and its great to read about it from someone who has done it as well as to get some tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

