Class Registration

So the Hunger Games, er, I mean registration for Disney classes opened yesterday morning. It was crazy. I thought registering for classes at school was bad- that’s nothing compared to this.

Registration was supposed to open on November 10th at 12:00 am EST, but on the evening of November 9th, it was pushed back until 10:00 am. Naturally, everyone starts freaking out.

This year Disney did registration through DORMS, which in the past was only used to sign up for housing. Before signing up for housing, Disney would email you with a temporary password to use to log into DORMS. The email/username for DORMS is the same as the email/username you would use to log into your dashboard, but you must get a temporary password from Disney before being able to log in.  However, Disney did not send out passwords, we had to request them ourselves.  Some people were lucky and got their temporary password emailed to them right away, others, like myself, were not so lucky.  It took me between 1-2 hours to receive my temporary password and I had to request it at least 10 different times before I finally got the email! So just keep trying, you’ll get it eventually.

I was in class when registration opened, so while I should have been listening to a lecture about pathogens, and defense mechanisms, and all this microbiology that is no where near as interesting as Disney, I was glued to my laptop screen trying to log onto the server. It doesn’t help that the WiFi at my school is terrible.  The site was taking so long to load and for the longest time I couldn’t get past the log in page. After about 40 minutes I finally made it to the actual registration page, but sadly, the class that I really wanted to take-Exploring Disney Heritage, of course- was already all full. I am on the wait list for heritage, but I doubt any spots will open up. Frankly, if I were registered for the class, I wouldn’t be dropping it. Instead, I signed up for Exploring Leadership, but I am also contemplating dropping that and registering for either Exploring Guest Service, or Exploring Cast Engagement and Human Resources. I can’t make up my mind about which classes to take!  CPs are only allowed to take two Disney courses per season. However, since I am doing the Spring Advantage program, there is still a chance I will be able to take Disney Heritage in the summer! Fingers Crossed!! I’m just so excited about being able to take a class at Disney University.

I continue to like the Facebook groups more and more with each day. The night before registration it was like our own little personal tech support. Most people (like myself) had never used DORMS before. I was so confused about what we use to log in and how to get our temporary passwords. We were all freaking out, but keeping each other calm at the same time. 

If I can answer any of your questions about registration, DORMS, or just the classes in general, comment below and I’ll try to help you out!

May the odds be ever in your favor, 

Sarah 

Leave a Reply

