Why the DCP?

“But what does this have to do with becoming a Physicians’ Assistant?”

Nothing. Everything.

I’m not doing the Disney College Program because I want to be settled into my career as soon as possible. I’m not even sure what I want to do anymore. I’m doing this internship because I want to be a Cast Member. I want to make magic for guests and help them make memories that will last a lifetime. I want to get out of Michigan and meet people from all world.  I want to live in my first ever apartment with a group of girls who love Disney just as much as I do.  I want to be able to explore Orlando and soak up all that the city has to offer.

If I wanted to be a Physicians’ Assistant as soon as possible I wouldn’t be taking this semester off to make my dreams come true.  I would be stuck at school, taking yet again another biology class and suffering through yet another lab. And instead of spending my summer working for the Walt Disney Company, I would be volunteering at some hospital getting those much needed patient care hours.  All these things will come in time.

I used to be so concerned about finishing undergrad in four years so I could hurry up and further my education.  But in the grand scheme of life taking an extra semester or two to finish school isn’t gong to matter. It’s not going to matter one little bit. 20 years from now I pray that the memories I’ll make and the experience I’ll have during my six months at Disney will be much more important than how fast I finished school.

I’m going to savor every ounce of pixie dust, every laugh with new friends, every ray of sunshine, and every smile on guests’ faces; young and old.

So don’t let anyone tell you that the Disney College Program is a waste of time and isn’t going to help you.  I’m not doing the DCP for anyone but myself. And neither should you.  If you want to do something go out and do it. It’s your life. Nothing is stoping you.

And hey, I’ll be able to put that I worked for a Fortune 500 Company on my resume and I think that’s pretty amazing.

Sarah

Merry Christmas(:

Leave a Reply

