Welcome, 2015

Happy New Year!

Happy Year of my Disney College Program!

19 hours and 1 minute into 2015

1 month and 1 day until I check into my DCP

Time is flying! I remember when I started my countdown it was 121 days and now I’m only 32 days away.

Time is so weird..but that’s a whole other topic..

My five wonderful roommates and I have decided on a 2 Bedroom/6 Person apartment in Chatham Square as our first choice. Originally, I was hoping for a 3 Bedroom/6 Person apartment in Patterson Court, but I think this will be much better. The rent is almost $20 less a month (who doesn’t like to save some money), there is a bus stop right at the complex, and the pool is gorgeous.  It will be different having three of us share a room and bathroom instead of just two, but (hopefully) I’lll be spending most of my free time at the parks and exploring all Orlando has to offer, rather than sitting in my apartment.  We haven’t signed up for housing yet because we have to wait until we receive our DORMS email.  I’m a little nervous that we won’t get our first choice in housing because we have the second-to-last check in date.  I’ll be sure to post about how that process goes.

I’m still oh-so-patiently waiting for Disney to email me my New Hire Forms.  I’m the only one out of all my roommates who hasn’t received their’s yet, so (fingers crossed) it will be any day now.

I have a list of (almost) everything that I need to pack, but have yet to start packing.  Since I lived in a residence hall at school, I already have just about everything I’m going to need for the room, so I don’t have much shopping to do before hand.

Also, if you’re bringing your car (like me), make sure that you have your name, not just your parents name on the insurance so that you can get your parking pass and all that jazz on check in day.

I’ll be making the 991 mile drive down to Florida with my mom.  We are leaving the morning of January 30th and will be arriving in Florida the evening of January 31st.  Before check in, I plan on staying with my aunt and uncle who live about an hour away from Orlando, rather than having to try to make hotel reservations because I know it will be hard to find a room.

I’ve been crazy emotional about this lately, which doesn’t come as a surprise to me. There’s moments where I’m so overwhelmed with happiness that i’m going to be a Cast Member and working for the company that Walt poured his heart and soul into.  And then there’s moments where i’m terrified that I’m going to miss something important at home while I’m gone.  But then there’s moments where I can’t wait to get out and go on this wonderful adventure and meet so many new people.

So here’s to new friendships, new experiences, and new memories.

That’s all I’ve got for today. I’ll be sure to keep you updated on everything!

Make 2015 what you want it to be,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

