The First Few Weeks: My Role

Hello again!

Things have been crazy so far, but I’m loving it.

With any new job, it is an adjustment, but so far everything is going great! I had four successful days of training and  have officially “earned my ears.” The days of training were very busy and it was a lot of information in a little bit of time, but now I am feeling confident with just about everything.

I work at Mickey’s of Hollywood, Keystone Clothers, Movieland, and three outdoor hub locations, all within Hollywood Studios.  Initially I was hoping to work at Magic Kingdom, but now I am really happy that I was placed at Studios.  It has given me a better appreciation for the park itself, plus the park isn’t open ridiculously long, so I will never have to work too late.  It’s a little crazy working at so many locations, but I know once I fully adjust to everything that I will enjoy working at various locations rather than the same store every day.  Having a background in retail has really helped me thus far; a lot of things are different than what I am used to, but there are also a lot of things that I am familiar with.

When I first started, I thought that I wouldn’t like working outside as much as I do inside, but I actually really enjoy it.  So far, I have worked outside by myself twice and both times have been great! It is still busy, but less crazy, so there is a lot more opportunity for guest interaction- something that I really enjoy.  Plus, the weather down here has really warmed up the last couple of days, so I get to enjoy the beautiful Florida sunshine while being on the clock. Another plus of working outside is that there is more downtime, especially now because it is not a busy season in the parks.  With that, I have the opportunity to really talk to guests.  For example, the other night two sisters were running around right by my location and I wasn’t busy, so I started spraying them with the bubble gun.  They absolutely loved running around in all of the bubbles and it was a lot of fun for me as well.

As a merchandise CM, I get to pin trade with guests.  For those of you who don’t know, Disney manufactures a bunch of different pins and pin collections.  The main idea behind pin trading is you first buy some pins and then you are able to trade your pins with other Cast Members.  A pin lanyard is part of my costume, so guests ask me all the time to see my pins.  I really enjoy pin trading because, again, it’s a great way to interact with guests and it is fun to watch kids young and old find the pins that they are looking for.

All of my coordinators, leaders, managers, and co-workers are great.  They have all been so welcoming, helpful, and very, very friendly.  When I first started training it was strange seeing so many new faces each day, but I am slowly starting to get to know everyone and I’m very excited to be able to work with this group of Cast Members for the next several months.

Thanks for reading!

Stay Golden,

Sarah ☆

One thought on “The First Few Weeks: My Role

Leave a Reply

