pancakes, pin trading, & paradise fears

Spring is in the air!

The Flower and Garden festival at Epcot official started on March 3rd and let me say, it is so beautiful.  Everything there just feels so fresh and natural, plus the new food selections they have look (and smell) great- as if the food in the World Showcase wasn’t good enough already.  I usually don’t like to buy park food, but it is hard to resist while traveling the world at Epcot.

Coincidentally March 3rd was also National Pancake Day.  I’m not sure there is a wrong way to celebrate pancakes, but my friends and I did it very, very right.  Brittany, Hannah, and I woke up early to go to IHOP for breakfast that morning.  (Side note: That morning Brittany and I attended a spotlight on Disney Fairytale Weddings. We actually were able to go into to Wedding Pavilion at The Grand Floridian and listen to a panel of various CMs on the wedding team talk about how they put together the weddings here at Disney.  It is straight out of a fairytale. I still can’t believe how beautiful the pavilion is; it’s so delicate and subtly Disney.  After the presentation, we were able to look around the bridal shop. Absolutely gorgeous. Just another perk of being on the Disney College Program.) Back to pancakes- After my Exploring Leadership class (which I am totally loving and will dedicate an entire post to later), Brittany and I picked up one of my co-workers and we went out to lunch. You’ll never guess where. IHOP. For more pancakes.  After lunch we went to Hollywood Studios for a couple hours and then Magic Kingdom for a few more hours.  At Studios we all got “I’m Celebrating” buttons and wrote National Pancake Day on them. I know its silly and stupid and dumb. But it’s also a lot of fun.  While at MK, I had my heart set on watching “Celebrate the Magic”, but Maris (one of my roommates) insisted we go ride Mine Train, which I’m so glad we did because I ended up meeting a family in line with two daughters who want to work for Disney one day! I spent the entire wait time talking with them about the College Program. (Jayda- if you’re reading this: “hi” and always remember to follow your dreams).  Once we got back from MK, I met up with Hannah, McKenzie, Becca, and “Not Chris” and we went out for food. Pancakes. Yet again. We all had such a great and obnoxious time out together.

Work is still going great! I am getting much more confident with everything and getting to know my fellow Cast Members more and more each day.  Nothing too crazy at work has happened yet, but you really never know what to expect. (I write this as the first week of “Spring Break” is here, so only time will tell).  A majority of my shifts are closing, which I completely expected coming into the program. (CP, college program, closing program).  Thankfully, I had an early shift this morning and I have another one on Wednesday! Fingers crossed that I get at least one or two a week, but I’m not counting on it.  I really do enjoy what I do. I can’t say this enough, but working for a company whose motto is “We Create Happiness” is such a great feeling and having the opportunity daily to create personalized happiness for guests is incredible.  I’m so proud to be a Disney Cast Member.


Now let me talk about this weekend. AH. I’m not even sure where to begin.

Paradise Fears just happened to be opening for Andy Grammar and Alex&Sierra on the Good Guys and a Girl tour.  They just happened to play in Tampa Saturday night and the following night in Downtown Orlando.  Hannah and I just happened to get tickets and go to both shows.  One of the great things about being a CP is that you get to experience so many more things that just working for The Disney Company, as if that isn’t completely amazing on its own (:  It is a lot easier to request a day or two off work or find someone to cover your shift that it is to skip a bunch of classes. At least thats how it is for me.  Seeing one of my favorite bands play live two nights in a row was incredible and being able to talk to some of the guys in between sets and after the shows was also pretty incredible.  Rachel Platten performed first; She is such a talented girl with such a strong voice.  She asked who was excited to see Paradise Fears and naturally Hannah and I got way to excited, so she looked over and smiled at us.  The following night after the show, I introduced myself to her and told her that I was at the show the previous night and the one who was way too excited to see PF.  She remembered us and gave me a huge hug! I strongly recommend listening to her music(:  Per usual, the guys put on a great show. Their music is lyrically phenomenal and hearing them live is pretty darn amazing.  During Alex&Sierra’s set at the Tampa show, Sierra pointed out that Hannah and I knew all of PF’s lyrics.  I was able to talk to Sam a little bit each night.  I had written him a letter, so I gave it to him the first night.  Maybe now he’ll remember me as “Hannah’s Disney Neighbor.”

I don’t want to drone one with the rest of my concert details because I could just write and write, but it doesn’t have much to do with the actual College Program, but I will be more than happy to share more details.

All in all, everything is going great and I am so so so proud to be working for this company. I’m not sure what God has planned for me after my program ends, but I do know that I want to make the most out of my time here and cherish these memories with people that I’ve met from across the country and world.

Stay Gold,

Sarah ☆

One thought on “pancakes, pin trading, & paradise fears

  1. So awesome Sarah! Happy that you are enjoying your venture so much! Great memories are being made. Enjoy. Xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

