In Review: Exploring Leadership

Happy Friday!

How crazy is it that it’s already May; the fifth month of 2015?

As many of you know, I took a seminar titled “Exploring Leadership” during the spring session of my DCP.  I completed this course about a week and a half ago, earning a Mouseters Degree and a Perfect Attendance Award signed by Mickey Mouse himself; it’s insanely corny, but it’s Disney so it works.

Even though I’m not receiving any credit from my school for participating in this internship, I’m still glad that I took the course and I believe that it was a good use of my time.  It is an eight week course meeting once a week for two hours, so it really isn’t that big of a time commitment.  As a quick overview, “Exploring Leadership” is basically an accelerated and condensed version of the training that all new leaders at The Disney Company receive; the powerpoints we saw in class were taken directly from the classes taught at Disney University, which is pretty amazing considering the amount of money some other companies will pay to see how Disney trains their Cast Members, especially in guest service.  Each week focused on a different topic that relates to leadership at Disney.  A lot of it focused around how to be a great leader while continuing to go above and beyond and keeping that Disney persona.  I didn’t take a huge amount of information away from the class, but if I had to go back I would still sign up for the course again in a heartbeat.  One of the things I enjoyed most about the class was all of the group problem solving activities we did.  It was a great combination of lectures and group work.  We also took two field trips, one to Magic Kingdom and the other to Animal Kingdom.  I love learning about all the little things that go into the parks to make them what they are.

Originally, I hadn’t been planning on taking any courses over the summer since the only one that I wanted to take had already filled up by the time I went to register, but thanks to my instructor emailing us that spots had opened up, I was able to register for Disney Heritage!

If you have any questions about this course or any others, just ask. (:

Stay Golden and Keep Dreaming,

Sarah ☆

One thought on “In Review: Exploring Leadership

  1. Pingback: In Review: Disney Heritage | Sarah's Piece of the Magic

Leave a Reply

