leaving home to go home

Hi,

Remember Me?

I know I started neglecting this blog as my Disney College Program continued onward. The only good excuse I have is that I was too encompassed living one of my many dreams to write about my experiences publically. It’s true, so I’m going to use that and hope that you accept it.

I also know I didn’t give a lot of information on how the second half of my program went, but this is not the time to talk about it. Just know that it was full of beauty and majesty.

“We could have done the DCP at anytime.  We could have ended up with anyone. But we ended up together. We were part of the DCP Spring Advantage 2015.  And we always will be.”

I checked in for my DCP on February 2nd, 2015. Today is February 2nd, 2016 (at least it was when I started writing this). It’s hard to wrap my mind around the concept that it has already been a year, but I’m not here to try to explain time, because quite frankly, I can’t.

However, I am here to try to put into words how leaving the DCP has affected me.

It was difficult to leave something so good, but it was impossible to try to pick up where I left things at the end of 2014.  No matter how badly I wanted things to stay the same, they couldn’t.  That’s the thing about change- it changes the good and the bad.  I started the school year off living in a new building, with a new major, and a new position as an RA.  I turned 20.  All exciting things, but so different from what I had once known.  The group dynamic was different in my friend group on campus when I returned, leaving me feeling lost.  Or as others will call it, with PDCPD.

I remember the moment it hit me that I actually would have to pack up and move back to Michigan. I had just gotten back to Vista Way after grocery shopping, and I had the sudden realization that I couldn’t stay here forever.  My 186-day journey was quickly coming to and end that I wanted so badly to avoid. Of course, I didn’t want to say forever, but I would have liked time to slow down before I had to say “see you real soon” to everyone that had become friends over the past 6 months.

I’m not one to jump into any relationship, even friendships, quickly, so it still catches me off guard sometimes how close I became with some of these people over the time span of six months.

“Where you don’t have to explain it, but you talk about it anyway because you know that they’ll feel the words you’re speaking.”

I was talking with one of my old roommates the other day and she said that she found her people, but they are scattered all over the world. And it’s heartbreaking. The people that I experienced so much with, don’t get to experience what I am experiencing now.  I met these people a year ago, and they have had such a great impact on who I am and I think they always will.  We mange to all stay in contact with one another, but it’s just not the same as being physically close to one another.  Video chats and text messages don’t compare to running around Magic Kingdom together.  Having long-distance friends is great because it gives all of us a justification to travel, but the loneliness you can feel in their absence is one of the worst feelings.  The pain of missing them is completely worth all of the memories shared together.  Completely 100% worth it.  Plus, it makes reuniting that much sweeter, at least that’s what I like to tell myself.  We could have done the DCP at anytime.  We could have ended up with anyone. But we ended up together. We were part of the DCP Spring Advantage 2015.  And we always will be. It started off as a dream, then became a reality.

One of the hardest things is trying to explain it to other people. This unique culture is something you won’t find anywhere else. Being a Cast Member is more than just a job, and sometimes it takes becoming a Cast Member to truly understand it.  We found a home at Walt Disney World.  That’s the thing about us.  We don’t have to explain how much it means to us. I love having people to get it. Where you don’t have to explain it, but you talk about it anyway because you know that they’ll feel the words you’re speaking.

keep dreaming,

Sarah ☆

Leave a Reply

