“just for fun”

Good morning dreamers,

Happy Easter!

A lot of things just happened in a very short period of time and I’m writing to share those things with you.

“I know what I am doing is insane, irrational, and hopelessly optimistic. But it’s my dream.”

As many of you know it is still a dream of mine to be a performer for The Walt Disney Company. I have this undying mix of faith and optimism that makes anything seem possible. Recently, I attended an audition for the Fall/FA 2016 Disney College Program. Before the audition, I had no intention of applying for another DCP before I graduated. I wasn’t even sure that I wanted to do another college program. However, ever since leaving Disney last August, it felt like I left a piece of my heart there, and I’m sure other DCP alumni can relate. If you’ve been following my journey, you know that I loved my first college program and I wouldn’t have wanted to change a thing. Although, if I were given a magic wand, I would like to go back in time just to be able to experience some of those memories twice.

Some time ago, I promised myself that I would attend any audition I could. This audition was in Michigan and on a Sunday. I had to go. So I did.

The audition went fairly well. I made it past the cut and am currently in consideration to be a character performer (again!) Insane, right? The audition was very similar to the first audition that I attended. The only main difference was that the casting director only had us do one animation exercise. Unfortunately for me, this meant that the second round was based more on a longer and more difficult dance routine. If you remember from before, I can’t dance. Regardless of what casting decides, I’m really glad that I auditioned. Plus, like most Disney auditions, it was a lot of fun.

The day after the audition, I applied for the Fall 2016 Disney College Program. I was a little stingier with the roles that I expressed interest in the second time around. I selected Character Performer, Character Attendant, BBB, Merchandise, Attractions, and Children’s Activities. An hour or so later I received the link to the Web-Based Interview, which I was so nervous for again! I took and passed the WBI later in the afternoon and then scheduled my phone interview. I feel really well about the way my phone interview went. Really well. But I don’t want to get too ahead of myself.

My interviewer said that they want to make all hiring decisions by the end of March, and I will hear back about the audition by April 15th. Applications dropped in the middle of January, so I am very late in applying.

There are some people who think what I am doing doesn’t make any sense. And I totally understand that. I know what I am doing is insane, irrational, and hopelessly optimistic. But it’s my dream.

Stay golden,

Sarah ☆

One thought on ““just for fun”

  1. Pingback: my experience as an RA + more | Sarah's Piece of the Magic

Leave a Reply

