excitement and expectations

It’s like when you read your favorite book for the first time. There’s no way to go back and experience it the same way, but that doesn’t stop you from diving back into the story time and time again.

When I was trying decide whether or not I was going to accept my role I revisited some of my journal entries from early on in the program and I could just feel the excitement. Everything was new and everything was different.

My second time around it’s not going to be that way. It’s a different type of excitement. It’s more relaxed, but still full of emotion.


 

I know what it is like to live in Orlando- I spent six months there.

I know how hot Florida gets in the summer- I survived it even with broken AC in my car.

I know what it is like to work long hours- I’ve worked 12-hour floorstock shifts.

I know what it is like to work early- I’ve clocked in at 5:30 am.

I know what it is like to work late- I’ve clocked out at 3:00 am.

I know what it is like to leave a place I love- I’ve done it before and I am doing it again.

I know what it is like to be a Cast Member- I was one. And I’m going to be one again.

I don’t know what it is like to work in WDW’s entertainment department- but I’m going to find out.

I don’t know what it is like to be a Character Attendant- but it’s one of my top roles.

I don’t know what it is like to do a second Disney College Program- but in a few months I will be experiencing it first hand for myself.


 

I’m really excited that I was placed in a completely different department than I was in during my first program. I loved merchandise, but I know that if I had gotten the same role again that it would be far too easy for me to compare my programs. And I’m sure I will find myself comparing them in some ways, but I’m going to try really hard not to. My excitement is more “Oh my gosh I get to go back to a place I love and make magic for guests and meet new people and live dreams” rather than “OMG I’M GOING TO DISNEY WORLD! I’M GOING TO SPEND SIX MONTHS LIVING AND WORKING AT DISNEY WORLD!”

I still have over a month of this semester left and an entire summer semester to complete before I move to Orlando for the end of 2016, so I have to at least try to control my excitement a little bit. Like my mom says, I need to be able to focus.

Before my first program, I knew it was going to be different from what I had imagined. Now, I’ve done the DCP before. I know what it’s like. However, my role is going to be new, the people are going to be new, and I’m going to keep an open mind going into it. Some things are going to be drastically different, and some things are going to be familiar and that’s extremely comforting for me.

 

Stay Golden,

Sarah ☆

Leave a Reply

