your reasons and mine

After my first College Program I had debated with myself over whether or not I wanted to apply for another CP in the future. For a while, I thought I was solely interested in the Summer Alumni Program. All that changed, however, when I went to an audition “just for fun.”

One of my main reasons for being so hesitant about doing another CP is because I’m so happy with the way my first program went. During my recent phone interview, my recruiter asked me a question that I wasn’t expecting, but one that I’m really glad she asked. She asked me, that if I were given a magic wand, would I go back and do it all over again. My first thought went straight to getting pixie dusted at Castle Couture. My second thought was yes, but only to experience some of the moments twice; I’m completely honest when I say I wouldn’t want to change a single thing. I then talked about how I know that it is impossible for me to recreate my first program (long live #DCPSpringAdvantage2015) and that I will always have those memories with me, but I want to take those memories and move forward in my journey with the company.

“Sometimes I can hear my bones straining under the weight of all the lives I’m not living”
–Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close//Jonathan Safran Foer

Another main reason for not wanting to do another CP is because doing the Disney College Program means living in Disney Housing, unless you are able to find and afford off-site housing. I told myself that I would never, ever live in Disney Housing again, but here I am, moving back at the end of Summer 2016. Just keep your fingers crossed that I’m able to live anywhere other than Vista Way. I don’t like talking negatively about CP Housing, but I have my reasons. The other aspects of the program made living in Vista Way completely worth it.

From my experience, it seems like some people do a second program for more networking opportunities, because they are in the process of applying for a Professional Internship, or desire to go Full Time/Part Time/Seasonal with the company and are using this as a spring board.

My reasons are a little different. In a nutshell, I really love being a Cast Member and terribly miss the lifestyle I had on my first DCP- I’m 100% serious when I say I’m really excited to be able to go grocery shopping on my own and plan out my meals on a regular basis. A huge dream of mine is to work for Disney’s Entertainment Department, and I knew if I turned down this opportunity I would regret it. I felt so connected during my time at Walt Disney World and ever since returning to WSU it just felt like something was off.

Some people are being silently critical of my decision to take another semester off to work an entry-level position across the country at a theme park. This means more to me than they know. My life is composed of a whole lot more than just planning for the future and grad school applications.

Maybe it is insane to relocate my life for four and a half months, oh well. I’m following my dreams and that’s all the reason I need.

 

Stay Golden,

Sarah ☆

Leave a Reply

